18 Month Temporary Protected Status Announced for Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone

November 20, 2014

The Department of Homeland Security has announced an 18 month designation for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for nationals of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone due to the recent outbreak of Ebola in those countries. Registration for TPS begins on November 21, 2014 and lasts 180 days, until May 20, 2015. The 18 month period also begins on November 21, 2014.

Protection under TPS guarantees that an individual will not be removed from the United States, and that she/he is authorized to work and obtain an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) for the designated period. To be eligible for TPS applicants must satisfy all criteria including that they have been “continuously residing” in the United States since November 20, 2014, and that they have been “continuously physically present” in the United States since November 21, 2014.

Liberians who are currently covered under the two-year extension of Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) based on President Obama’s Sept. 26, 2014 memorandum may still apply for TPS.

For more information on eligibility for TPS or on how to apply please contact us at (215) 925-0705 or email info@lhscimmigration.com.


Related News

January 25, 2021

February 2021 Visa Bulletin

Subsequent to the issuance of the February 2021 Visa Bulletin USCIS has informed prospective applicants of which chart to reference when…More

January 21, 2021

DHS Publishes Final Rule to End H-1B Visa Lottery

On January 8, 2021, Department of Homeland Security published a “final rule’” to replace the current lottery process for H-1B…More

September 10, 2020

USCIS Issues Updates to Final Fee Rule

USCIS has updated their regulations regarding fees, fee exemptions, waiver policies, premium processing time limits, which we will summarize. All…More

Image Image Image Image